Daring Bakers February 2012: Quick bread


The Daring Bakers’ February 2012 host was – Lis! Lisa stepped in last minute and challenged us to create a quick bread we could call our own. She supplied us with a base recipe and shared some recipes she loves from various websites and encouraged us to build upon them and create new flavor profiles.

Quick bread! Yay! I love  Quick bread.  I make zucchini bread a lot, and my mother used to make “babovka” all the time (which is a marble  quick bread but she bundt’s it).  So many options.  I was determined to take this baking challenge by storm, and I made THREE different flavours of quick breads.  One turned out well enough, one flopped horribly, and the last was magnificent.  I have no pictures of the flop, and I was very upset with it, but I will share my experiences anyways.

Lemon Loaf (Adapted from Recipe Girl’s Meyer Lemon Loaf)

  • 2 and 2/3 cups flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • zest of 3 lemons
  • 2 cups white sugar
  • 6 eggs
  • 3/4 cup sour cream
  • 1 and 1/2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 cup + 1 tbsp butter, melted and cooled

pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees

flour and baking powder in one bowl. Thank you Sous- chef!

Sugar, eggs, lemon peel, whisk! You'll know when its ready, it will be a delightful sunshine colour

Add the Flour and baking powder in groups until mixed well, then add the butter in parts and mix well again. Put in greased loaf pans

bake for 50-55 minutes. Start checking on it around 45 minutes just incase. When the knife comes out clean from the center you're done!

  • SIMPLE SYRUP:
    ½ cup granulated sugar
    ½ cup (120 ml) water
  • Juice from 1 medium lemon

bring water and sugar to a boil until sugar is noticeably dissolved, take off heat, add lemon juice, glaze your hot loaves that are cooling on a rack

What did I think of my lemon loaf?  It tasted fantastic.  I had the same problem with it though, that I always have with loaves.  Density.  My baking powder is old, and therefore less potent, but I’ve watched my mother use baking powder that could be up to years old and still get super fluffy Babovky.  Hmmm….

Audax Artifix Pizza Quick bread

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup white sugar (I omitted. Sugary pizza?? In hindsight maybe it would have helped)
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup crumbled blue cheese (I omitted)
  • 1/4 chopped Sun-dried tomatoes (+ 2 tbsp oil)
  • 2 tbsp italian herbs
  • 3/4 cup sour cream
  • 1 onion chopped
  • 1 sausage fried
  • few strips of pre-cooked, chopped bacon (I added that on my own)

Pre-heat to 325, do the usual.  Mix flour and Baking soda, set aside.  Fry your onion with your sausage, and bacon, mix those with the tomatoes, eggs, buttermilk, herbs, sour cream.  Then sift in the flour mixed and bake for around an hour.  My fail was this: It was the super bowl.  I thought my husband and his friends would enjoy a nice, strong, pizza flavoured quick bread.  He had chilli on the stove.  My oven cannot multitask. Half the burners only work at half power if the oven is on, and half won’t even work if the other two are on.  One hour passed, not done.   One and a half hours passed, it looked done, passed the knife test because the outside was so crispy so I took it out and allowed it to cool.  The moment I flipped it on to my rack it broke in half and the middle, completely raw, oozed out, and in a panic I tried to get it all back in the pan and back in to the oven.  That’s when my husband said I looked like a child because I was sulking and stomping my foot, honestly I don’t blame him. LOL! So, after another I dunno, another Hour? I finally took it out for good and though it did taste quite good, it had the texture of my mothers thanksgiving stuffing.  Over moist and super dense.  Fail fail fail!!  I need redemption.

Pumpkin Loaf with Maple Cream Cheese Filling

Makes three 8”x 4” (20 x 10 cm) loaves
Adapted from Dana Ramsey’s recipe

filling:

  • 2 packages cream cheese, softened
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp milk
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup

Pumpkin Bread

  • 3 cups white sugar
  • 1 3/4 cup pumpkin puree (NOT PIE FILLING!!)
  • 1 cup canola oil
  • 1 cup water
  • 4 eggs
  • 4 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp cloves

Pre-heat your oven to 350, grease THREE loaf pans

First things first, make the filling.  Beat the cream cheese with the sugar, egg, milk until creamy (you know, when it no longer resembles cottage cheese lol!) then add your syrup, blend it, and put it away.

beat sugar, eggs, pumpkin oil and water

mix all your ingredients, MINUS THE BAKING SODA AND BAKING POWDER**

in groups, add the dry to wet

when it's all blended, THEN add your baking powder and soda, and just stir gently until incorporated. Pour in your loaf pans, 1/4 full. Spoon cream cheese down middle, put more batter on top to cover it.

Bake it for 50 minutes – 1 hour. Keep and eye on it, my oven made me keep it in longer, but my oven is on its last legs.  Now if you want to know why I left the lifters (baking powder, and soda) til the end, it’s because I finally listened to my mother.  That is how she does it with her cakes, and no matter how old her baking powder is it always seems to work perfectly.  She attributes it to using it as late as possible in order to keep it from “wearing off”.  She doesn’t know the actual science to it, obviously I don’t either, but that’s just how she was taught so that’s how I did it.   How did it work out for me?

You tell me!

My loaves SWELLED up.  I have never had this kind of lift in ANY of my baking before! and the crumb? Well… Hello Breakfast!

mmmmm. No filling on the first slice, awww

What a wonderful challenge.  I can’t wait to use what I learned in my other baking ventures!

10 Responses to “Daring Bakers February 2012: Quick bread”

  1. makeycakey Says:

    I LOVE the bright pink mixing bowl! And that your kids got in on the act – and of course the cakes look delicious!

  2. Korena in the Kitchen Says:

    Sorry to hear about the mishap with the pizza bread, but happy to read about your triumph in the end 🙂 That leavener trick is awesome – your pumpkin loaves look wonderful!

  3. Aleksandra Says:

    What a lovely challenge finale 🙂 I have also made lemon loaf 🙂

  4. Jo Says:

    I loved the lemon loaf too! Great job with all your loaves.

  5. Kim Says:

    I made the lemon loaf too and loved the flavor! I wanted to make the pumpkin one but never got around to it, it sounds like I might need to. Sorry your middle loaf didn’t turn out great. At least it tasted decent so it was salvageable in the end. Nice job on the challenge!

  6. AvocadoPesto Says:

    So sorry to hear that the italian pizza loaf was a failure! I made the cheddar beer bread for the challenge but I’m curious to try to italian pizza loaf – hope I have better luck with it!

  7. Angela M. Says:

    The pizza loaf sounds like it would have been pretty tasty. Sorry it didn’t work for you.

  8. Good Cooks Says:

    Great job on the challenge, I loved the two and sorry for the floped one, thanks for sharing your experience.

  9. nina Says:

    That looks wonderful. Lovely job on the challenge:)

  10. Eftychia Says:

    Thank you so much for the lemon loaf recipe. I was looking for a similar recipe…


Leave a Reply

