Meatball Sunday


To continue with the princess food, I really don’t see it but according to my daughter, Meatballs are the epitome of princess fare.  I think this was more because she saw my dad had bought me a box of pre-cooked meatballs because they were on sale and he owed me $10.  Slow cooker meatballs sounded like exactly the effortless dinner I needed to make after baking all afternoon.  So I mixed all my ingredients in the slow cooker on off, then added the frozen meatballs, and put it on high and mixed the hard ice balls around til they looked sauced up.  This is the sauce a made, I like to refer to it as the “fridge door” sauce, since everything I used can be found in the fridge door, keeper of condiments.

Fridge Door Meatball Sauce

  • 1 box frozen meatballs (about a pound)
  • 3 cloves garlic crushed
  • 1/2 cup ketchup
  • 2 spoons chilli paste
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup beef broth
  • 1/4 cup HP steak sauce
  • 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 2 tbsp dijon mustard
  • just over 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp worcestershire sauce (or westershestershurshetsher lmao)
  • 3 heaping spoons of strawberry jelly
  • salt and pepper to paste

So basically its as I said above. Mix it all in the slow cooker to save time, minus the jelly, then pop in the meatballs and sauce them up a little. Put the heaping spoons of jam on top of different areas of meatballs, the heal will make it melt so don’t worry about stirring it in immediately. Let them cook on high for 4 hrs, or low for 6.  Once they’ve defrosted they’ll be easier to sauce.

When they finished they were delightfully spicy, but not overspicy, with a small hint of sweetness.  Delicious!

Leave a Reply

