Pork and Apple Empanadas


I love empanadas.  Thats about it with that, I just love them.  I had my first empanada at a Playschool celebration with my eldest daughter, it was a potluck.  I brought zucchini bread, one mother brought a perfectly Elmo decorated two tier homemade cake,  only later I found out she was a professional baker.  Lots of ethnic food there from the various cultures that came everyday to expose their children to a school type day. Finally, a tray of tiny meat and potato empanadas.  They were absolutely delicious!   I got the urge to make them again when I was doing my Pierogi challenge, and made a pork and apple filling.  Though it was good in the pierogi, I thought it would be killer in an empanada.  Why I have yet to make them? Well honestly… I don’t know!   I’ve had a lot go on in the last few years, between moving twice, broken ankles, and the children I haven’t done a lot of things.  Today I was motivated.  Today I worked out for an hour, I cleaned, and I made empanadas.  Veni, Vidi, Vici.

Empanada Dough

  • 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2  cup all purpose white flour
  • 1/2 cup cold salted butter, cut in to cubes
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/3 cup ice cold water
  • 1/2 tbsp balsamic vinegar

I know that doesn’t sound like your basic traditional empanada dough, but I vowed to be healthier this year.  So I bought the whole wheat flour. I admit, I bleeped it this time. I used all whole wheat flour and it did NOT come out tasting very good, dough wise.  Mixed on the inside with the pork it tasted better, but I also didn’t roll it out as thin as I should have.  I think splitting the quantity with regular all purpose flour would have made it MUCH better. I used salted butter because, well, it was on sale for $1.00.  Because it is salted, I omitted all salt from the recipe.  I used 2 eggs, because I found it wasn’t binding as well with the whole wheat flour.  Balsamic vinegar?  I’m out of regular. Its raining, i’m not going to the store now!

Pork and Apple Filling

  • 1 lbs spicy italian sausage
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 apple, cored, peeled and chopped
  • 1 clove garlic minced
  • 1/2 an onion, chopped finely

I'm ready! Cut your butter in to cubes and throw in your flour. Cut it up like normal pastry cutting.

Egg, Water, Vinegar, Whisk!

combine, knead, ball and fridge for MINIMUM 1 hour. This is when I had to add the extra egg because my goof didn't bind right.

Start your filling. Sweat the onions/garlic, cook the pork through, add apples and maple syrup and cook for a bit

Let it cook down a bit for the apples to get soft and soak up the maple. I let it cool in a strainer so all the fat and liquid could drain completely

Divide the dough to roll out easier, roll it out THIN! don't make it too thick like I did!!, I used a bowl to cut my circle, and add some filling. Not too much or it won't seal

Bake at 350 for 15 minutes, flip, another 5-10 minutes til it gets nice and brown. Like whole wheat toast. Ahhh I'm so new to this whole grains thing.

You will mostly likely have leftover empanada filling.  Do whatever you want with it! I just ate it with a spoon.

 

So all in all, I didn’t do very well at this.  I know my mistakes though, and I have done it properly before.  Whole wheat flour threw me off my game, but i’ll be prepared next time.

3 Responses to “Pork and Apple Empanadas”

  1. booktopiareviews Says:

    that looks AWESOME. (confession: I have been known to cheat and use the refrigerated pie crust for empanadas when it’s on sale). I always do beef/chicken/potato & cheese empanadas…pork looks awesome. Thanks for the idea!

    • Sterlingo Says:

      why thank you! I have a soft spot for pork Especially maple pork! The beef and potatoes is great too tho

  2. Eftychia Says:

    That filling looks delicious! I am sure I could eat it with a spoon too! Very nice step by step photos. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

