Gingerbread Zucchini Scones


I love biscuits.  Sadly, and I know this will sound odd, but I have never had a scone.  I knew they were in the range of a biscuit but I always thought they were a little fancy.  I also don’t drink a lot of tea, which apparently, scones are synonymous to.   A challenge sparked me recently though, a scone challenge, and I thought it was the perfect excuse to finally make try fresh baked scones.   As we can all agree, fresh baked always tastes better.

So I completed my challenge, results to come at a later post, and then I decided after tasting my first fresh baked scone that I can be super creative with this!  So I adapted a zucchini bread recipe I make frequently to be a scone, called my baking buddy over,  and the results were wonderful.

Gingerbread Zucchini Scones

  • 1 3/4 cup flour
  • 1/3 cup raisins
  • 1/4 grated zucchini
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tsp ginger
  • 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp ground clove
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 cup frozen, grated butter
  • 1/2 cup cream
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 1/2 tbsp maple syrup

Preheat your oven to 475, hot hot hot!

Triple sift your ingredients, minus the brown sugar. when done, add brown sugar.

cut frozen grated butter in to the dry ingredients, mix in all wet afterwards.

turn out dough on to a floured surface. With well floured hands knead it a bit, adding the raisins and zucchini

bake for 10 minutes at 475. Check on it a few times, at that heat its easy to burn the bottoms. Like I did! haha

Eat! Trust me, she likes them. Shes just mad I won't stop taking pictures of her.

2 Responses to “Gingerbread Zucchini Scones”

  1. Nikki Says:

    I am a scone lover, I used to make them a lot, but haven`t in a while because I rarely use butter now. I miss butter. 😦
    These look tasty!

    • Sterlingo Says:

      yea I dont use a lot of butter.. Its actually very rare i use any butter at all but sometimes you just get bit by the baking bug 😀 and the boredom bug, which sparks the baking bug.


Leave a Reply

