Redressing Old Staples


So what do you do when you’re on a time constraint with dinner? Your husband is going to be home late, and you don’t have time to go to the store. You have hungry kids to feed and nothing fresh in the fridge.  So open the pantry.  You see the boxes of kraft dinner, hamburger helper, alphagetti’s… Boring!  But you have no choice. So what did I do in this situation? I brought out the no name hamburger helper from walmart and decided to redress it.  Make it more flavourful and delicious.  Amp’d it up, as the kids would say! So here’s something you could think of next time your old pantry staples are staring you in the face.  Its just as fast, and atleast twice as good.

Amp’d up Hamburger Helper

  • 1 box “Beef Pasta” hamburger helper
  • 1 lbs spicy pork sausage
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup
  • 2 cups hot water
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 3/4 cup cream (I ran out of milk! Bad me.)
  • handful of peas

So decase the sausage, chop up the sausage, do whatever you prefer so long as it can appear “ground” thru cooking.  I usually decase them in to the pan and then seperate it with my trusty spatula.

My kids hate spicy food, my husband and I love it.  My husband bought spicy sausage, and I already knew instantly they wouldn’t take well to it.  So I used my normal trick of the trade, sweeten it.  While cooking out the pork, when it looks browned i put in a tablespoon of maple syrup and mix it all in and let it simmer for a couple minutes to get that nice sweet flavour coming through.  Once thats finished, you throw in the box contents (pasta and sauce mix), water, cream/milk.  I can’t believe I ran out of milk! Bad mommy. Just bad.

Just let that simmer for awhile.  When its starting to look more saucy than soupy put in a handful of peas, or mushrooms. Any veggies you like.  I dont like overcooking my vegetables, I love the crunch from the peppers or the tang of the onions.   Let it cook a while longer to defrost your peas.  Yes my peas are frozen, oh well!

Eat! Spicy, mapley, pork-y.. Cuz lets face it, ground beef is just plain boring!

Leave a Reply

