Pumpkin Soup


I think that a mark of being somewhat decent in the kitchen is an affinity to use up the leftover ingredients from other recipes.  I say “somewhat decent” because I’m not the best cook, and I have quite a few misses compared to hits but everyone gets fed in the end lol.  For instance, today,  I was experimenting with an ice cream flavour and I had leftover pumpkin puree.  So, being as super imaginative as I am (hah.)  I figured i’d make soup with the leftover puree.  I really couldn’t think of anything else I could use  pumpkin puree for and I sure didn’t want to just chuck it in the garbage.

I thought of maybe making a southwest pumpkin soup, complete with jalapeno’s.  For some reason I think Jalapeno’s will work.  But, I don’t have any so I guess they won’t! I do have spices though, maybe i’ll make it spicy!

yum 🙂

Spicy Pumpkin Soup

  • 2 cups pumpkin puree
  • half a large onion
  • 1 clove garlic minced
  • 1 tsp fresh ginger grated
  • 1/4 tsp hot pepper flake
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp Fajita seasoning
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 cup light cream (5%)
  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • 1 tbsp butter or margarine

melt  the butter in a pot.  Add all the onion and cook until nice and soft and season with all the spices (minus the ginger).  Meanwhile, put the stock, pumpkin puree, cream, and ginger in a blender and puree together.  This is where it got tricky for me, because my blender is quite small so I had to go in two rounds to do this all.  Scrape the onions in to the blender and puree down.   Once this is done just put it back in t

he pot and heat it up.  Salt and pepper to taste and there you go! Somethin

g to do with the leftover pumpkin puree.   This would probably be a good idea around thanksgiving when the pumpkin puree is being put in everything.

Posted in food. 3 Comments »

3 Responses to “Pumpkin Soup”

  1. Albeee Says:

    looks good
    but i dont like pumpkin flavoured stuff (pumpkin pie etc)

  2. Nikki Says:

    Ginger and garlic are so good with root vegetables 🙂 nice combination, I did something similar with carrots, but replaced the cream with potatoe and beans. Love puree soup…
    Pumpkin puree use ideas: pumpkin latté, pumpkin spice cookies, scones and cake, pumpkin pie, pumpkin cheesecake, pumpkin muffins, pumpkin smoothie… Damn now I want pumpkin SOMETHING lol

    • esmeq Says:

      I made ice cream with the puree so I was looking to make something that wasn’t dessert-ish lol otherwise i’d be on pumpkin overload.. I have to save pumpkin overload for thanksgiving but i’m thinking of ideas already on what to make and bring along to the Sterling family thanksgiving dinner. Mini something. I made mini carrot cupcakes last year and they had to restrain bill grampa from eating them all. The ice cream recipe i used tho, (david liebovitz) could easily be turned in to an amazing pumpkin cheesecake recipe. I should do that. Hmmmmm…. 😀


Leave a Reply

