Vanilla Chai Apple cake with Cinnamon Whipped Cream frosting


Bake em away, toys!

I did a baking extravaganza today.  Well, not quite to the extent of an actual extravaganza but I did bake a cake.   I started with wanting to make mini-cupcakes that tasted like Apple Jacks, one of my favorite cereals.   I started by using a basic white cupcake recipe, and while I was putting it together, as I usually do, I let my hands take control and start randomly adding and omitting things.   I went for the milk, but I pulled out my Boathouse Vanilla Chai Soy protein drink instead.  I went for apple sauce, but I didn’t have any so I boiled and mashed a couple apples but since I don’t actually have a proper masher they came out slightly chunky, which I actually liked.  When it came to the proper baking of it, I played it all by ear.  When in doubt, start at 350.  375 can be okay also for most cakes, 400 is overboard.

Vanilla Chai Apple Cake

  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup Vanilla Chai Soy beverage ***
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 apples, cored, boiled and chunky mashed
  • about 1/4 cup oil
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3 eggs
***I used this in place of regular milk.  I thought it might give off a hint of that spiced flavour that I love.

First, mix the flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt in a bowl.    In a mixing cup or small bowl mix the Vanilla Chai, vanilla and apples.    Lastly, in yet another bowl, beat together the butter and sugar until its nice and fluffy.  Then the eggs one by one, beating well after each egg.

once you’re left with a nice liquidy dough, add the flour and chai mixture bit by bit start with, and ending with, the flour.       Pour in to your baking pan (I used my brand new springform for the first time in hopes that I’ll get a pretty cake as well as a yummy one!) bake at 375 for 20 minutes, then lower to 350 for 20 minutes until a knife or toothpick inserted in to center comes out clean. you know the drill.

pre-frost

Cinnamon Whipped Cream Frosting

  • 2 cups whipping cream
  • 3 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup confectioners sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp almond extract
  • dash of nutmeg

Whip cream up to soft peaks,  add cinnamon, sugar, and nutmeg. Whip to firm peaks, add vanilla and almond extract.  Frost Cake.

Final Verdict:  I wanted to make a cream cheese icing for this, I thought it to be more fitting (and delicious) but someone stole my cream cheese before I even noticed so I switched to the whipped cream icing which I never find as good as cream cheese.  This wasn’t entirely an exception but the cake as a whole was good and you could definitely taste the vanilla chai.

3 Responses to “Vanilla Chai Apple cake with Cinnamon Whipped Cream frosting”

  1. Nikki Says:

    Mmmmm that boathouse vanilla chai is one of my favourite drinks… The mocha one is awesome too!

  2. Albee Says:

    mmmmmmmmmm
    except….i dun like cream cheese
    but other than that…..mmmsies……..

    • esmeq Says:

      lol didn’t use cream cheese. was going to but it disappeared.


Leave a Reply

