Swiss roll bombes


finished Swiss Roll Bombe

The July 2010 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Sunita of Sunita’s world – life and food. Sunita challenged everyone to make an ice-cream filled Swiss roll that’s then used to make a bombe with hot fudge. Her recipe is based on an ice cream cake recipe from Taste of Home.

This is my first Daring Bakers entry.  I love baking, always have.  Just ask my mother, she could never get me away when she was baking.   Then when she virtually stopped baking I just started making her dorty myself.  Being czech, her cakes were always very yeasty, or they were bundt’s.   I stuck to the bundt’s.      I’m so happy to start this.

Now to be completely honest when I saw this months baking challenge I thought, I’ll start next month.  My husband saw it over my shoulder, asked what it was and when I told him I’m challenged to make that he told me the inevitable.  I am now demanded to make it, and to wipe his drool off the floor while I do so.

When I see swiss rolls, I always think of black forest cake.  I think the reason for that is the swiss rolls I’ve eaten in my life always have the cherry sauce layer.  So I decided to incorporate some of that idea in to this.   I made my swiss roll bombe with cherry ice cream, and chocolate ice cream.  I used a rum sauce between the ice creams rather than fudge because I thought it would just be chocolate overkill. I chose rum sauce over a cherry liquer sauce because of the cherry ice cream.  My ice cream managed to leak out of the swiss rolls but I believe this is because i didn’t pack them tight enough, I left some tiny gaps between my rolls allowing ice cream escape!

I must admit.  This recipe turned out to be a LOT easier than I could have ever thought it would be looking at the finished product!  Everything turned out perfectly for me.  I would like to warn you readers now though,  it is best to take this project slow and make sure everything sets well.  So give yourself two days, as was recommended to me and turned out to be exactly what I needed.  Make the cake and ice creams on the first day, do the sauce and setup the next day.   This will ensure that the ice creams are frozen, the cake is chilled enough to cut without crumbling, and you won’t be ripping your hair out over stress and confusion! Happy eating!!!!

The Swiss rolls

  • 6 medium sized eggs
  • 1 cup of Caster Sugar
  • 6 tbsp all purpose (plain) flour + 5 tbsp natural unsweetened cocoa powder, sifted together
  • 2 tbsp of boiling water
  • a little oil for brushing the pans

Pre heat the oven to 400 deg F.  Brush the baking pans ( I used 11 inches by 9 inches ) with a little oil and line with greaseproof baking paper (I used wax because my brain doesn’t function well in the morning lmao. Kitchen smokeout!)  If you have just one pan, bake one cake and then let the pan cool completely before using it for the next cake.

In a large mixing bowl, add the eggs and sugar and beat till very thick; when the beaters are lifted, it should leave a trail on the surface for at least 10 seconds.

Add the flour mixture, in three batches and fold in gently with a spatula. Fold in the water.

Divide the mixture among the two baking pans and spread it out evenly, into the corners of the pans.  Easy as that!

Place a pan in the centre of the preheated oven and bake for about 10-12 minutes or till the centre is springy to the touch. 12 minutes worked out perfectly for me.

Spread a kitchen towel on the counter and sprinkle a little caster sugar over it to prevent sticking.

Turn the cake on to the towel and peel away the baking paper gently.  I lost some tiny bits of cake in the process by my garbage disposal husband managed to get them all. Trim any crisp edges.

Starting from one of the shorter sides, start to make a roll with the towel going inside. Cool the wrapped roll on a rack, seam side down.

Repeat the same for the next cake as well.

For the filling-

  • 2 Cups of whipping cream
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 5 tbsp of caster sugar

I don’t have a food processor.  If you do, grind the sugar, then grind it with the vanilla.  I just mashed up the vanilla and sugar with a hard plastic ice cream scoop. It worked.

In a large bowl, add the cream and vanilla-sugar mixture and beat till very thick.  This took 5- 10 minutes.  You don’t want to over whip.  Over whipping creates butter.

Divide the cream mixture between the completely cooled cakes. Open the rolls and spread the cream mixture, making sure it does not go right to the edges or you’ll get run out.
Roll the cakes up again, this time without the towel. Wrap in plastic wrap and chill in the fridge till needed, seam side down.

Cookin the pre-cherry ice cream!

Cherry ice cream

  • 350 g cherries (i used Glace.. because I sent my husband to get the groceries.)
  • 5 medium egg yolks
  • 3 cups heavy table cream
  • 1/3 cup caster sugar

Puree the cherries until they’re a delightful little red mashy paste. Put aside for later!

Separate 5 eggs, keeping the yolks in a midsized sauce pan and save the whites for breakfast one day.  Whisk the yolks together until they are well beaten.

Now add the rest, minus the cherries and heat on a medium heat, stirring frequently until all the sugar is dissolved and the mixture is almost at the boil.

Remove from the heat and pour into a cold bowl or jug, and leave to cool fully.

Once the mixture is cool, stir in the pureed cherries thoroughly

I don’t have an ice cream maker.  So if you’re like me, and don’t have an ice cream maker, when the ice cream is fully cooled put it in the freezer, and regularly visit every half hour or 45 mins  to mix it again until it’s set.  Thats it really!

Chocolate ice cream! SOO EASY. tastes store bought.

Chocolate ice cream

  • 2 cups whipping cream
  • 1 cup caster sugar
  • 3 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder

Grind together the sugar and the cocoa powder in a food processor .

In a saucepan, add all the ingredients and whisk lightly. Then place the pan over heat and keep stirring till it begins to bubble around the edges.

Remove from heat and cool completely before transferring to a freezer friendly container till firm around the edges.  You’ll run this the same as you would the cherry ice cream if you’re like me and ice cream makerless.   On a side note, if you DO have an ice cream maker, follow its instructions!

Rum sauce! double yum!

Rum Sauce

  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1.5 tbsp rum extract (or 3 tbsp light rum)

Melt butter in a small saucepan over medium heat. Mix together the sugar and cornstarch, and stir into the butter. Pour in milk, and cook stirring frequently until the mixture begins to boil. Continue cooking until thick, stirring constantly. Remove from heat, and stir in rum.  Let cool completely!

Assembly:

Swiss roll pieces, ice cream, sauce, ice cream!

Cut your swiss rolls in to slices, not too thick but not too thin.  Starting at the bottom of your chosen bowl (pre-chilled, and the inside of the bowl plastic wrapped all the way up) add the first 2 swiss roll slices crease to crease.  From there, add slices all the way up the sides of the bowl.  Cover the top with plastic wrap aswell, and freeze  for atleast 30 minutes to an hour.  Add softened cherry ice cream, freeze for an hour, add sauce, freeze for atleast an hour.  The rum sauce will not freeze, but it will become very thick, so give it atleast an hour to hour and half to do so.  Then softened chocolate ice cream.  Now that all the elements are together, freezer it for 4-6 hours (or as long as you want I suppose).   To get it out of the bowl, take off the covering layer of plastic wrap, gently flip it on to a serving dish, or whatever you’re going to serve it on,  and pull the bowl off super softly.  It should go relatively easy because of the plastic wrap inside but if its giving a bit of trouble just get a cloth, dampen it with hot water and rub it on the bowl to release it.   Pull of plastic wrap, and eat!

I must say I was pleasantly surprised by this entire recipe and I think I’m going to start making home made ice cream a lot more often!   Challenge done.  Time for a nice pat on the back.


4 Responses to “Swiss roll bombes”

  1. s Says:

    You definitely deserve a pat on the back! Great job!
    http://forkbootsandapalette.wordpress.com

  2. Homebake Queen Says:

    Man… there’s a lot of work in that Bombe!! But the colours are so pretty, I’m sure it’s worth all that work. And it looks delicious!!

  3. Albee Says:

    hubba hubba!
    licking me lips rite now

  4. Natalie Says:

    Ooh wow great job on this mnnths challenge, yours looks delicious!


Leave a Reply

