Walnut butter … tomato… curried… hummus????


Today was one of those days where I create a complete kerfuffle in the kitchen.  A day where I start with a recipe in mind, and then snowball in to something completely different.

I decided I was going to make something with a homemade walnut butter, still inspired by this months Daring Cook challenge.  I didn’t have a lot of walnuts though.  So I started making the butter and decided that it was not enough.  I see sage and walnut butter go well together so I put in sage.  In my hurry it turned out that I put in thyme, which was next to the sage.   So then I put in some sage also.   My blender is working so hard, but the butter is just not forming because it is a grandmother of a blender with the torque of a cooked noodle.  So, as the snowball continues,  I threw in the last of my table cream.  I thought, walnut sage butter.. thyme.. cream sauce?

I tasted it.  It wasn’t terrible by any means, but it didn’t have a wow.  Or even a “let me lick the spoon again.”   So, I think to myself, maybe I should add more vegetables.  Before I know it i’ve dumped in the remaining pint of grape tomatoes I desperately need to use up.   I blend that down and it tastes just TOO tomato-ey.    Over powering tomato.  Gross!  So I think to myself, what goes well with tomatoes?

Salt…. Pepper….  Basil… Those go in..  Then? Curry powder??  Seemed like a good idea at the time so I put in the curry powder and blended down.   Still, way too tomato-ey.   So, I add some spice.   I put in some of my spicy fajita seasoning.   Obviously, this doesn’t counter the tomato taste.  Then it comes to me.  What do I always use to cut through an overpowering taste that I don’t like? GINGER!  So I throw in a teaspoon of minced ginger and voila! Fixed!

Not exactly.  Though if finally did taste a lot better, I couldn’t stop myself from continuing in my snowball.   I open my pantry doors and what do I espy? Chick peas!   So I dump in a can of chick peas, but what do you always need if you’re going to blend down chick peas? Garlic.  So in goes two cloves of garlic.

I cross my fingers thinking, this is kind of like a hummus with all the chickpeas.   I dip in my spoon and taste, and what do I find?  Deliciousness!  How wonderful!  So here is my approximate recipe!  Yes, don’t mind the massive amount of ingredients, its as I said.  Just one of those snowball days.

over blended a tad possibly. lol

Walnut curried tomato hummus

  • 1 cup walnuts
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/4 tsp thyme
  • 1/4 tsp sage
  • splash of balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tsp spicy fajita seasoning
  • 1 pint grape tomatoes
  • 2-3 tbsp table cream
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/4 tsp basil
  • 1 tsp curry powder
  • 1 tsp minced ginger
  • 1 can chick peas
  • 2 cloves garlic

Blend all.  Or read my incessant ramblings above.  I’m quite sure as long as you grind down the walnuts first, you should be in the clear.

Now, before I sound too biased, being a self made recipe that I myself enjoy, I did test it on my family.  Their verdict was,  it was good!  It could use more garlic in my opinion, but the reason I didn’t put in that much is because the longer something sits with garlic in it, the more the garlic starts to take over the flavour.  I figured this might be in the fridge for a week, imagine the garlic taste by then!  The problem with their verdict is though , that no one in this family is quite used to hummus.  So I tested it on my father, and he said “yea it doesn’t taste bad. I just have to get used to this type of food”.  Which means, hummus isn’t traditional old Czech, therefore out of his food-comfort range.  Obviously.  I need to find someone with hummus experience to taste it.

3 Responses to “Walnut butter … tomato… curried… hummus????”

  1. Nikki Says:

    Walnuts in hummus… Hmm, it could work well! Normally it’s sesame (paste) inside, along with whichever desired flavour…so I’d imagine this would be great! I hate sesame, so usually cut it out all together, but I do like walnuts! I am a hummus obsessed person. I volunteer my taste buds!!!!!!!! I can’t get enough of Middle Eastern food 😉

    • esmeq Says:

      lol I’d say come over and taste it for me but might take awhile to arrange a time/place lmao More time perhaps than the hummus has to live. I like hummus too but my parents never bought it. They’re intimidated by the unknown. lol

      But yea, the walnuts aren’t bad in it. The chick peas toned down the tomato taste, and the garlic made it hummus’y lmao

      Bills mother might be coming over tomorrow and she swears she makes world famous hummus. I’ve never tasted it because she hasn’t made it anywhere i’ve gone to lmao I’m sure it is good, shes a trained chef, but I’m thinking I might ask bill to make her taste it. She’ll know her hummus.

  2. Heather Says:

    Holy hummous batman, that stuff is as good as gold in my books so if you’re up for a hummous gathering I’m so in for bringing over some groceries and having a hummous party 🙂


Leave a Reply

