Strawberry Bread Pudding


A delicious failure!

Strawberry Bread Pudding

  • 1 pound fresh ripe or frozen strawberries (if using fresh, save 1/4 lb. unsliced for topping)
  • 3/4 cup orange juice
  • 4 cups French bread cubes
  • 4 Tablespoons butter, melted
  • 1 cup half and half
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 8 ounces cream cheese, softened
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

Soak strawberries in orange juice. Place bread cubes in a bowl. Pour melted butter over all, toss to coat. Then you whisk half and half into beaten eggs.

In a mixer on medium speed; combine sugar, cream cheese, vanilla, salt and nutmeg. Blend well. Add the egg/milk mixture and mix well and add strawberry/orange juice mixture, mixing until fully combined. Pour mixture over buttered bread cubes; cover and refrigerate for one hour or overnight.

Bake this at 350 degrees for 45 minutes covered, and at 400 degrees for 10 minutes uncovered.

This was a failure.  I’m not sure what i did wrong but the cake just wouldn’t set!   I must have hit an hour mark in the oven and it still just wouldn’t set in the middle.  I’m wondering if the pan I used was just too small, so it couldn’t cook through properly.

Even though this failed though, in presentation and directions, it tasted mighty delicious!   I’m thinking after I go berry picking I’m going to attempt this again.  If it doesn’t work I think i should stick to cobblers.   No pictures exist of this but I kind of wish I took a few because I could use them as learning points.

Posted in food. 2 Comments »

2 Responses to “Strawberry Bread Pudding”

  1. Albeee Says:

    sounds good, if i ate srawberries
    i should eat more tho cos there “good for me”
    hehe at bread cubes

  2. s Says:

    it does sound delicious..strawberries in a bread pudding…wow!
    http://forkbootsandapalette.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

