Bolognese Sauce


So it comes to that time of day again. I’m standing in front of the freezer wondering which meat to defrost, and what to do with it. So I decided that I want to try another recipe. So I bust out my veggies and get dicing, then i hit the store and get anything I don’t have. I decided today I’m going to experiment with my first sauce, something that isn’t just a regular tomato sauce. So I decided, after some recipe searches, to make a variation of a Bolognese sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

  • extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 med onion chopped finely
  • 2 stalks of celery chopped finely
  • 2 carrots chopped finely
  • 4 cloves garlic minced
  • 1 cup mushrooms chopped finely
  • 1 lbs extra lean ground beef
  • 1 lbs lean ground veal
  • 1 cup of white wine (pinot grigio works well.. Something dry)
  • 14 oz crushed peeled tomatoes
  • 1 quart of chicken stock
  • dash of cayenne
  • 1 tsp curry powder
  • 1 tsp dried oregano (or tbsp fresh)
  • 1 tsp dried basil (or tbsp fresh)
  • 1 cup table cream ( I used 18% m.f.)

start by heating up a big pot with the olive oil. Toss in your onions, celery, garlic, carrots and cook for about 10 minutes on medium heat.
Raise the heat a little and add your meats, cook it until its no longer pink.
Add the white wine and simmer until the wine evaporates. This could take a while.
Add the tomatoes, and the chicken stock, the cayenne, curry powder and some salt and pepper to taste, add basil and oregano.
At this point it gets easy. Lower the heat and simmer for around 2-3 hrs until its thickened.
Once its thickened up add the cream and simmer for another 20 or so minutes.

So.. Delicious.  My 1 year old is doing laps around the rooms acting like my wooden spoon is a lollipop! My husband set aside a container full for tomorrows work lunch before he was even finished his dinner.

Leave a Reply

