Green Beans!


Beans Beans

Every so often I like to purge my pantry.  I find a lot of non-perishible items tend to just stock up.  We keep buying them but seem to rarely use most of them, things like canned vegetables and soups. I’ve been staring at cans of asparagus and green beans that we’ve had in the cupboards since we moved in to the basement of this house.  To give an idea to that timeline we now live in the complete re-modeled ground level floor of this house with a baby that’s turning one next month.  So today my husband decided he’s making steak.  I’m sick of potatoes.  I don’t like potatoes all that much, unless seasoned just right.  I especially hate mashed potatoes, yes I realize i’m weird for that.  So I decided to finally figure out a way to use these green beans in a non-traditional european way (throwing them with pork and potato chunks, one of my mothers favorites) and I made kind of an italian feeling  side dish.  I found a recipe online that looked good, I went and made it and upon return to the recipe I realized I seemed to make up the entire thing in my head the minute I stepped away from it because I did virtually nothing on that recipe I thought I was following.

Green Beans

  • 4 slices bacon
  • 2 cans of Green beans (check the pantry I’m sure some a kicking around from years ago.)
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • half a medium onion or 1/4 an extra large onion
  • handful of cherry tomatoes
  • dash of oregano
  • dash of salt
  • dash of parsley
  • dash of pepper
  • dash of hot chilli powder
  • small grating of allspice

Cook your bacon till its all nice and crispy.  Set it on paper towel to drain and resist the urge to eat it.  Do not pour out the bacon grease in the skillet, it will add some extra flavor to the beans.  Chop up the onions, tomatoes and garlic nice and tiny.  Set the garlic aside for now, throw the tomatoes, green beans, and onions in the heavenly bacon greased skillet and toss it around so it all mixes together nicely.  Add all the seasonings.  I wrote dashes because as with all seasoning its really to personal taste.  Let that cook away for around 10-15 mins stirring it around every so often to make sure all of it gets some nice heat.  When thats done, toss in the garlic and mix it around and let that cook for maybe a minute or two.  Put it all in a bowl or dish and crumble the bacon on top, again trying your hardest to avoid just eating it right there.  Enjoy!

One Response to “Green Beans!”

  1. Albee Says:

    hehe i actually like canned green beans
    and the yellow ones


Leave a Reply

